Thoughts on presentation

envelope2c2

In her commentary on my final assignment for BoW Wendy, my tutor, suggested I reflect on the presentation modes I have used and am thinking of. When I completed Assignment Five I presented the edit in a cardboard box that I half covered in brown paper and utilised ribbons to lift the work and present it to the viewer. And it was in this boxed form that I took the next edit to the Family Ties Event at the Glasgow School of Art presentation and whilst I provided some thoughts on presentation in my accompanying note for Assignment Five, it was suggested that I make it more explicit.

The image above (and below) show the envelopes that I produced as part of the FTN event, they were to accompany the full edit in the cardboard box. I decided to adopt this strategy as I wasn’t sure of the space or environs at the event. I had five envelopes, each labelled with an Episode number; 1 through 5. Viewers to my work engaged in both the box of prints and the envelopes – I was concerned at one stage whether they were focussing on the envelopes only! I had selected sub-edits, that I termed episodic narratives and included a set format of prints, texts and artefacts into each envelope.

Whilst there is no specific temporal narrative in the work as a whole, viewers seemed keen to develop one in the order 1 to 5, which I found interesting; Wendy noted how it emphasised the mutability of memory, which is a theme of my work and my dissertation. However I will settle on a box for the assessment and I am working with someone, who has greater carpentry skills than I, to design and make a box intended to present the images to their best advantage.

 

Envelope1c2

The envelopes worked, but not as I had expected and it was a useful exercise in presentation.

5 thoughts on “Thoughts on presentation

  1. I surely was one of those who made sure to view them in order, and then liking my uncertainty of what that actual order may have been. Reading your post I am keen on revisiting those different episodic narratives… I like that sense of smaller sub-groups quite a lot: it worked well for me (and the form of the envelopes did so too); and reading Wendy’s comment about mutability of memory makes perfect sense and I will revisit the images with that in mind. Oh: and I also really liked having the artifacts present also; even though I only noticed that little box later; there was almost a sense of disbelief that they existed in actuality.
    Good to see how you are arriving at your decisions for presentation.

    • Thanks again Gesa. I am considering presenting the artefacts as part of the submission for assessment – Wendy is unsure – but they hold no value for me, so if they get lost it will only add to the narrative.
      The edit has changed again from what you saw in Glasgow, the final (?) edit will become evident on the web at some stage – though I am now thinking about your comment on the episodes…

      • Yes, I think it’s worth thinking about the objects being part of it; it’s interesting what you say about the value of them: I fully empathise; them getting lost in one way or another would be possibly quite fitting (but maybe there are better ways for losing them than in an academic assessment procedure?).
        I’ll look forward to what you will settle on for the final edit and any sense of them being episodes… I haven’t thought of my own work along episodes, but realise that I’m intrigued by the sense of gentleness that it evokes for me… I possibly conceive of things as variations, but that means that I tend to emphasise the potentiality for difference; ‘episode’ is more ambiguous in that sense and I will take that thought for a walk. Thanks!

      • “but maybe there are better ways for losing them than in an academic assessment procedure?” Actually I think this would be very fitting, given that his view of me was worthless! Maybe I should provide them with an instruction to ‘allow’ them to vanish!

      • oh yes… that would make it indeed a very fitting loss… yes: do think of some instructions for the return part of it!

Leave a Reply

