Post assignment tutor review

Envelope1c2

I don’t think I could be more pleased with the feedback I have received for my final assignment in this course.

The clear advice I have received I have considered and implemented, and the resultant work has a much stronger sense of personal voice. The changes I have made to the edit based on the various feedbacks I have received, from the Glasgow FTN event at the Glasgow School of Art, various requests from the network I am continuing to build and those from the first assignment of Sustaining your Practice, have all helped to develop the work and make it stronger.

I will write up separately the thoughts and investigations in to the form of presentation that I have considered and employed so far. I have several things to do as the course comes to a conclusion, one of which is to provide my reflection on the work and the feedback session. Wendy’s notes are here:

John Umney –Feedback: Assignment 5 – Body of Work

SKYPE feedback – Monday 7th December (1 hour)

Many thanks for your submission for Assignment 5 for Body of Work, which took the form of: a hard copy edit of your project, written notes and an evaluation/summary of the work to date.

Your project for BOW has significantly developed since your last submission and in my opinion this submission is of a very high quality.

In summation you have:

  1. Provided a clear and comprehensive evaluation on the project as it stands.
  1. Submitted a proposed final edit of your project (for the purpose of this course), which works well. *
  1. Provided a clear route map for the way forward and development of this project as you transit into your next course (Sustaining Your Practice).

* Most notable in this edit is the way in which you have developed the content and position of text within your project. I think that your final chosen texts (first person and confessional in tone) work well and are much more effective that previously used strategies (i.e. using quotes on father and son relationships from fiction).

As discussed in out feedback session, I would recommend that you:

  1. Finalize the edit by re-arranging one or two of the images (a minor edit) as discussed.
  1. Consider using the title ‘Legacy’ (with your existing title remaining but perhaps becoming a sub-title) for this project and as an over-arching title to embrace an area of research that will span several projects (to be further articulated as part of Sustaining Your Practice.
  1. Rewrite your project summary to include a description of Legacy as part of a wider, ongoing series of projects. This will allow you to set the stage for the development of your work in your next course.
  1. Provide a short couple of paragraphs on modes of presentation employed to present this work and explain why you have selected the box form in particular.

 

 

14 thoughts on “Post assignment tutor review

  1. That’s excellent, John: it’s good to see that all your revisions and rethinking have made this come together so strongly; it’s good to see the changes on the text as first person (fictitious/ possibly actual) having become more coherent; the one text that always just caught me out is the Boltansky one which I have read before (and my academic self is seeking the reference).

    I like what the notion of ‘legacy’ is going to add: also in terms of opening this out towards the next module; we had a similar discussion of someone else’s BOW at the last study day here: I find it very useful to see how these two course modules are building on each other and thanks to those who are the first cohort to work through the new course structures…

    • Thanks Gesa: The Boltanski quote comes from an interview with Tamar Garb in 1996 – I found it in a ‘Documents of Contemporary Art’ volume “Memory”.
      I started to consider the word/idea “Legacy” when I was in Glasgow, in particular when I was talking to Theresa Moerman Ib. I think it is nicely ‘open’ and invites engagement. Of course the texts are fictitious as much as they are aren’t – I am writing about the unscrupulous nature of memory as part of my dissertation, it is an unreliable witness.

      • — Thanks, John. I’ve got a reference for that quote also somewhere in my notes, … I find it interesting to explore at what point such referencing seems to become important for myself: inventing narratives around my families also touched on that sense of ‘serious truthfulness’ that seems a dictum for much of what I do… and that seems to disregard any of the malleability of memory… would love to read your dissertation when/if you are happy to show it. Am looking forward to what my critical review may focus on for Digital Culture… am beginning to get a sense how that course is forming around my interests, which is very exciting.

Leave a Reply

