Assignment One

Bridge at Blenheim monoc2

“Begin your project by going out on a shoot.”

I took the instruction above and went on a few ‘shoots’, and those that I did, in the knowledge that they might be considered as material for the course, I have documented under the tab Assignment One.

I am still interested in ‘Open Works’ and finished the Documentary course with some thoughts about it here, but I haven’t moved things on very much and will need to refresh those thoughts with more research and perhaps some guidance. The relationship(s) between image and text and image and image have been helpfully moved on by reading a text recommended by fellow student Stephanie d’Hubert: Understanding Comics by Scott McCloud. These relationships still seem important to me, though in all of the imagery I have selected for Assignment One, no texts exist!

These images, or to be more precise these sets of images, whilst depicting different contexts have an underlying narrative that seem to be to be about isolation – being on the outside of things, left behind, not entirely fitting into the found environment. Of course these are personal/autobiographical images and I wonder if I will be able to detach myself and explore these notions in, or succumb to it . My work at the end of Documentary was an entirely personal project, but one that I felt had a certain detachment inasmuch as I recreated the context for the both the image and the text. I feel that the extension to this work should have that mix of personal and abstraction. These images have been chosen because they represent that to me; they are reactions to the self but in a form that, hopefully abstracts ‘me’ (to whatever extent) from it. I have a strong feeling that I will need to develop my visual vocabulary if I am to produce a body of work in this vein, however I don’t want my viewers to find ‘closure’ a ready commodity and I would be most pleased if any viewer found a vicarious closure as a personal reaction to their own circumstance rather than an extrapolation of the author’s.

On the subject of Genre, there would be a natural inclination to consider Psychogeography as a natural home with these sets of images – I have written about it here – however I am drawn to both ‘Tableaux’ and ‘Fictional autobiography’. The scenes in the monochrome images in the set could be said to fit into both camps (despite the incongruity of the female subject!), and I see it as an extension of my work in theatre (directing) as a way to explore ideas; I therefore see Aliper as a greater inspiration than Self in the search for self…

Currently I feel a bit like this: At the other extreme are those photographers who have hundreds of good ideas which never come to much because they lack the discipline and perseverance to make the ‘great ideas’ into great artworks.” Maybe my ideas aren’t that great, but I know instinctively that I have to start a conversation and this feeling of trepidation is one I suspect that won’t abate by continuing prevarication.

As for the opening picture, as I write elsewhere: “A moment’s pause during a walk with the family, five minutes in post processing produces an image of an image designed to please. The purgatory of which is that it is difficult to resist the charm and pull of these photographic fictions, informed by years of practice. Working hard to find inspiration for the final period of this round of study, this imagery is surely a distraction?”

With the above in mind I have selected the following for that purpose:

yellow cropc2

sandy track cropc2

horizonc2

Green2c2

Dandelionc2

 

Enterc2

Waitingc2

Awayc2

Aside againc2

 

 

2 thoughts on “Assignment One

  1. I will follow with interest John, the BW set of images reminds me of the atmosphere in Chris Maker or Duane Micheal film and pictures, there is this feeling of being in front of something apparently uneventful yet threatening.

Leave a Reply

